Here you will find a overview of Gauteng and links to History, Geography, Cities, Fauna and Flora
Capital Johannesburg
Principal languages isiZulu 19,8%
Afrikaans 12,4%
English 13,3%
Sesotho 11,6%
Population 12 728 400
Share of total population 24%
Area (km2) 18 171
Percentage of total area 1,4%


Although Gauteng is the smallest of the nine provinces, it is the economic hub of South Africa and the continent. However, the province not only offers a vibrant business environment, it also boasts some popular tourist attractions such museums and historical sites, theatres, restaurants and a rainbow of ecological and cultural diversity.

Gauteng is one of the nine provinces of South Africa.

Although Gauteng is the smallest of the nine provinces, it is the economic centre of South Africa and the continent. Responsible for over 34,8% of the country’s and 10% of the entire continent’s GDP, it is also Africa’s financial-services capital.

Financial and business services, logistics, manufacturing, property, telecommunications and trade are some of the province’s most important economic sectors.

The population of 11 million people have the highest per-capita income level in the country. The province blends cultures, colours and first- and third-world traditions in a spirited mix, flavoured by a number of foreign influences

Most overseas visitors enter South Africa via OR Tambo International Airport.

Johannesburg, widely referred to as Joburg and nicknamed “Egoli” (Place of Gold), is the capital of the province and a city of contrasts. South of Johannesburg is Soweto, developed as a township for black people under the apartheid system.

Some 50 km north of Johannesburg lies Pretoria, the administrative capital of South Africa. The magnificent Union Buildings, which overlook the city from where it sits on Meintjieskop, represent the official seat of the South African Government and house the offices of the country’s President.

In 2012/13, the Gauteng Provincial Government spent more than R500 million on the construction and maintenance of roads in the province. Through the S’hambaSonke road maintenance project, 100 new contractors were capacitated and 6 500 jobs created, benefitting cooperatives and companies owned by women, youths and people with disabilities.

The industrial area of Rosslyn and the townships of Soshanguve and GaRankuwa are situated north of Pretoria. Mamelodi and Cullinan, known for its diamonds, lies to the east. To the west lies Atteridgeville.

Other important Gauteng towns include Krugersdorp and Roodepoort on the West Rand, and Germiston, Springs, Boksburg, Benoni, Brakpan and Kempton Park on the East Rand.

Vanderbijlpark and Vereeniging in the south of the province are major industrial centres, while Heidelberg, Nigel and Bronkhorstspruit to the east are of agricultural importance.

The province houses some of the most important educational and health centres in the country. Pretoria boasts the largest residential university in South Africa, the University of Pretoria, and what is believed to be the largest correspondence university in the world, Unisa. Other universities include:

  • University of the Witwatersrand
  • University of Johannesburg
  • The Medical University of South Africa (Medunsa).

There are also several teacher-training colleges, technical colleges and universities of technology in the province.

In addition, Gauteng is home to leading research institutions such as the:

  • Council for Scientific and Industrial Research
  • Agricultural Research Council
  • Onderstepoort Veterinary Institute
  • Human Sciences Research Council.
To Our Newsletter

To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!