Profile of the Province

The Province may be divided into four basic tourism sub-regions. Common geographical or topographical characteristics identify these different sub-regions although the dividing line between one and the next is seldom clear-cut:

Mookopong (Naboomspruit), Modimolle (Nylstroom), Belabela (Warmbaths), Vaalwater, Marken, Mokopane (Potgietersrus), Haenertsburg

Polokwane (Pietersburg), Lebowakgomo, Alldays, Musina, Louis Trichardt and Thohoyandou.

Thabazimbi and Lephalale (Ellisras)

Valley of the Olifants
Giyani, Phalaborwa, Hoedspruit and Gravelotte, Tzaneen and Duiwelskloof.