Macrorie House Museum

Situated on the· corner of Loop and Pine Streets, it belonged to the right Reverend Bishop of Maritzburg, William Kenneth Macrorie, from 1870 to 1892.   Bishop Macrorie came to Natal as a result of a schism in the Anglican Church brought about by the controversy surrounding the Bishop of Natal, John Colenso.   The house is furnished in Victorian style throughout  and contains the Bishop’s miniature Chapel and the reredos he brought with him to Natal in 1869. One of the six bedrooms includes a display on the lives of both Bishop Macrorie and Bishop Colenso. The house is widely reputed to have a ghost.  Tea can be arranged in the garden.

The Drakensberg

The Drakensberg

Geology The Drakensberg Mountains had their onqm some 200 million years. ago when a vast landmass...

Piet Retief’s Grave

Piet Retief’s Grave

The treaty under which the Voortrekkers received land from Dingane was signed on 6 February 1838....

uMgungundlovu

uMgungundlovu

The  seat of power of Dingane from  1828 to 1839 is preserved as a  site museum. The iKhanda was...

R E Stevenson Museum

R E Stevenson Museum

The R E  Stevenson Museum was established in 1974, and is devoted to the history of the town and...

Old Parsonage Museum

Old Parsonage Museum

This charming sandstone building on the corner of Kerk and Loop Streets, in  Utrecht is now a...

Uys monument

Uys monument

Hlobane 20km east of Vryheid was the scene of a desperate struggle against the Zulu where Boer and...

To Our Newsletter

To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

SAcoronavirus.co.za